The old wives and me: A recap and an update

Here is what the old wives and I thought.

Here is what the old wives and I thought.

So on Monday we had our 20 week ultrasound. If you’ve been following regularly, you’ll know that I’ve had a lot of fears about this pregnancy. If not, I’ll do a brief recap:

It started off rough. We were told early on to expect another miscarriage. That would have made 3 in a row. I did have some cramping and a little bleeding early on, but the little one just kept on keeping on. At our 6 week ultrasound we got to see our rainbow. There was a baby and a heartbeat! We were thrilled. This was huge! I lost Jordan at 6 weeks so having a heartbeat was awesome. With my next pregnancy with Mason, we found out at 9 weeks that it was a blighted ovum. The baby didn’t form. This time, at 6 weeks 6 days we had a baby with a heartbeat.

I was still terrified that things were going to end at any time. I was also afraid that my baby wasn’t going to have a brain. I was going to carry it to term, deliver it, and donate the organs. If you’ve seen the show Private Practice, you’ll know what I’m talking about. So we had our nuchal screening done at 12 weeks and baby is growing. The tech said that everything looked good, but she didn’t say if there was a brain or not. I just assumed there was and we moved on. Baby was still doing well, still thriving, and still had a nice strong heartbeat in the high 140s-160s, depending on the day.

20 weeks!! We made it halfway. I’m still afraid of losing the pregnancy, but now it would be considered a stillbirth instead of a miscarriage. Stillbirth holds a little more weight with people than miscarriage. At least those that have never experienced a loss. I know that is a morbid thought, but I’m just being honest. I’m sure I’ll have a little fear until the day my baby is born, but I’m feeling some kicks now and I love the reassurance.

20 weeks 5 days. Chris and I go in for the ultrasound. I’m dressed in a pink t-shirt and a pink hoodie. The tech shows us the different body parts on the screen. I’m just looking for a heartbeat or movement. I’m not seeing either and I’m a little freaked out. We see arms and legs, stomach, spine, and feet. She shows us the brain. My baby has a brain! Chris said, “There’s a brain!” He was kind of making fun of me, but I didn’t care. Then she says, “it’s a boy!” I start crying and I ask her if she’s sure. Chris has 2 daughters already, so I was praying for a boy. I would have bet money that we were having a girl. I would have loved it either way, but I wanted him to have a son. I was sobbing. Uncontrollable sobs. The tech had to ask me to keep my stomach still so she could finish up. His heartbeat was 166.  It was amazing, emotional, and awesome. The tech said he seems healthy. I think he’s perfect. My son. The old wives and I were wrong, but I’ve never been more happy to not be right.

Today, I’m 21 weeks. Only 3 more weeks until viability!!!

Baby boy at 20 weeks 5 days.

Baby boy at 20 weeks 5 days.

Leave a Reply

